About ACIPSS

The Austrian Center for Intelligence, Propaganda and Security Studies (ACIPSS) is an internationally recognized research center attached to the University of Graz. The center’s focus rests on examining its three “pillars” (Intelligence, Propaganda and Security) within an academic context.

Apart from researching in a traditional “academic-historical” sense, the center also analyzes contemporary problems and issues. In this way, the center combines the functions of a historical research section, with those of a modern think-tank.

In addition to research and teaching conducted at the university level, the members of the center seek and the center itself (exists) so as to expand and educate the general public about its areas of research, as well as its results.

The center is affiliated with the Austrian Society for Secret Service, Propaganda and Security Studies (ÖGGPSS).

Why a center?

The foundation of an international center allows for the researching of Intelligence, Propaganda and Security studies and questions which are contemporary and highly relevant to the times in which we live.

The Anglo-Saxon and Scandinavians have for many years possessed centers and institutions dedicated to the subdiscipline of “Intelligence Studies” while, until recently, such a framework has not existed (despite interest) within the German-speaking area. There is, to this date, no comparable institution in the German speaking world to ACIPSS.

The themes of Propaganda and Security are, despite their relevance to current affairs, more or less “unknown” across German-speaking universities, particularly within history departments and institutes.

This is particularly shocking given the fact that in countries such as the USA (and Canada, Sweden, or the Netherlands) these areas of study have been accepted as being critical elements within the university structure, and furthermore that given the trends in the world since September 11 2001, a necessity.

The need for well-versed personnel in the areas of Intelligence, Propaganda and Security Studies is thereby validated, and it is the aim of this center, through its staff and functionaries, to enlighten both the academic and non-academic world of the need for research in these areas.

Who we are?

The staff and functionaries of ACIPSS are academics, including historians, lawyers, and political scientists, who in varying levels of intensity work in cooperation with the institute for history at the University of Graz.

Some of our members have focused their entire careers on the areas of Intelligence, Propaganda and Secrurity and offer regular seminars and courses at their Universities and Research Institutes.

Apart from established academics and professors, the center also benefits from student members, as well as men and women “in the business” (that is to say, those with practical experience in Propaganda, Security or Intelligence). The main goal for the center however, is to provide engaged and prospective students with the chance to work and collaborate (i.e. publish) within the academic/university framework.

What we do?

Academic (Teaching and Research) within a traditional historical context
Scientific research within a historical context means focussing on the past. The historical importance of and events which stem from all forms of Propaganda, Intelligence and Security are of paramount interest to the center. Preference is naturally given to those occuring in Central and South-East Europe.

Analysis and Interpretation of Contemporary Problems
The contemporary relationship of the public, private and government sectors to our main fields of interest allows us to contribute to the research, analysis and interpretation of current regional (i.e European) as well as domestic (Austrian) themes. In this sense, the center can provide insight into developing trends as well as existing problems and situations.

Eduation and Instruction
In keeping with the analysis and interpretation of contemporary problems, ACIPSS also aids in the advising and instruction of administrative, governmental as well as economic personas, based on the research and analysis conducted.

Information and Public Relations
Informing the public, specifically via the media, is one of our most important tasks. This is due to the often-times misleading and false connotation that the phrase “Intelligence Service“ stirs up within the public. Popular perception is far from reality and due to the resources at the center’s disposal, a rectifiable one. Additionally, in the fields of Propaganda and Security Studies, ACIPSS seeks to acheive the same as in the area of Intelligence Studies, namely, mending false beliefs relating to the nature and conduct of those respective areas.

Interdisciplinary and International Cooperation
ACIPSS members strive to achieve interdisciplinary collaboration (in teaching and research) not only with researchers at our home university but also with those operating nationally (Austria) as well as internationally.

Über ACIPSS

Das Austrian Center for Intelligence, Propaganda and Security Studies (ACIPSS) ist ein an die Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz angelehntes, international ausgerichtetes Forschungs- und Kompetenz-zentrum, das sich der Erforschung, Untersuchung und Analyse der drei Bereiche („drei Säulen“) Intelligence, Propaganda und Sicherheit verschrieben hat.

Neben der Wissenschaft im traditionell-historischen Kontext soll das Zentrum auch der Analyse von gegenwärtigen Problemen dienen. Auf diese Weise wird die historische Forschung mit aktuellen Fragestellungen des 21. Jahrhunderts in Verbindung gebracht.

Zusätzlich zur Forschung und Lehre auf universitärem Niveau haben sich die Mitarbeiter des Zentrums auch der Popularisierung der Inhalte der „drei Säulen“ Intelligence, Propaganda und Sicherheitsstudien gewidmet und wollen mit diesen Themen bewusst auf die breite Öffentlichkeit zugehen.

Das Zentrum wird von der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Geheimdienst, Propaganda und Sicherheitsstudien (ÖGGPS) getragen.

Warum ein Zentrum?

Durch die Gründung eines (inter)nationalen Forschungs- und Kompetenzzentrums, das sich mit den Problemkreisen Intelligence, Propaganda und Sicherheit auseinandersetzt, sollen Forschungsbereiche von höchster Aktualität und Handlungsbereiche von staatspolitischer Bedeutung aufgegriffen und im historischen Kontext interpretiert werden.

Obwohl beispielsweise die angelsächsischen und skandinavischen Wissenschaften seit Jahrzehnten in der Subdisziplin „Intelligence Studies“ richtungsweisend wirken, ist bis dato im deutschen Sprachraum – trotz Interesse und Zuspruch von in- und ausländischen Kollegen – noch keine vergleichbare Institution geschaffen worden.

Die Themenbereiche Propaganda und Sicherheitsstudien sind – obwohl sie tagespolitische Relevanz aufweisen können – auf den deutschsprachigen Universitäten, insbesonders auf den historischen Instituten, ebenso nur sehr schwach vertreten.

Was in den USA und in anderen Ländern (etwa in Kanada, Schweden oder den Niederlanden) schon eine Selbstverständlichkeit darstellt, ist hierzulande – trotz der Auswirkungen des 11. September 2001 – noch fast im Bereich des Exotischen angesiedelt.

Der Bedarf an in den Bereichen Intelligence, Propaganda und Sicherheit geschultem Personal besteht schon jetzt und das Zentrum will durch seine Mitarbeiter und durch nationale sowie internationale Forschungskooperationen das notwendige Know-how anbieten.

Wer sind wir?

Die Mitarbeiter des ACIPSS sind WissenschaftlerInnen, darunter Historiker, Juristen und Politologen, die in unterschiedlicher Intensität in Verbindung zum Institut für Geschichte der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz (KFUG) stehen.

Einige Mitarbeiter beschäftigen sich schon seit vielen Jahren mit den Themen Intelligence, Propaganda und Sicherheit und bieten dazu regelmäßig einschlägige Veranstaltungen im Lehrangebot ihrer Universität bzw. Forschungseinrichtung an.

Neben den etablierten WissenschaftlerInnen und Professoren lebt das Zentrum von der Mitarbeit von StudentInnen und Männern bzw. Frauen „der Praxis“ (also von Menschen, die im weiten Sinne in den Bereichen Intelligence, Propaganda und Sicherheit aktiv tätig sind). Das Zentrum soll insbesondere engagierten StudentInnen bereits früh die Möglichkeit zur Mitarbeit, die in der heutigen Universitätsstruktur äußerst selten gegeben ist, bieten.

Was tun wir?

Die Aufgabenbereiche des Centers sind vielfältig:

Wissenschaft (Lehre und Forschung) in traditionell-historischem Kontext
Wissenschaft in historischem Kontext bedeutet „Focus on the Past“. Die historische Erfassung aller Formen von Intelligence, dem Einsatz von Propaganda und von sicherheitspolitischen Fragestellungen stehen im Mittelpunkt. Erste Schwerpunkte sind auf den mittel- und (süd)osteuropäischen Raum gelegt.

Analyse und Interpretation gegenwärtiger Probleme
Der Gegenwartsbezug ergibt sich aus der Recherche, Analyse und Interpretation aktueller, vornehmlich regional-europäischer, aber auch nationaler Themen. Hier kann das Zentrum auch zum Ansprechpartner für Politik, Wirtschaft und Medien werden.

Schulung und Weiterbildung
Die Beratung und Schulung von Personal aus Politik, Verwaltung und Wirtschaft soll eine neue, vernetzte Form von Denken vermitteln: Recherche, Analyse und Interpretation zu unseren drei Schwerpunktfeldern. Kurzum: Grundlagen für Entscheidungsträger erstellen.

Aufklärungs- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
In der breiten Öffentlichkeit, vor allem auch in den Medien, sind mitunter völlig verschrobene und von der konkreten Realität der Arbeits- und Funktionsweisen von modernen Nachrichten- und Geheimdiensten weit entfernte Vorstellungen vorhanden, an deren Richtigstellung es anzusetzen gilt. Im Bereich der Propagandaforschung und Sicherheitspolitik besteht ebenso Aufklärungsbedarf. Die Mitglieder des Zentrums wollen vor allem durch Vorträge und durch Veranstaltungen in Schulen die breite Öffentlichkeit ansprechen.

Interdisziplinäre und internationale Kooperation
Die Mitarbeiter des Zentrums sind bemüht, durch interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit (in Lehre und Forschung) im eigenen Haus (Karl-Franzens-Universität), mit anderen nationalen Lehr- und Forschungseinrichtungen und vor allem mit internationalen Gesellschaften und Zentren möglichst breite Kooperationsmöglichkeiten zu schaffen, durch die neue Einsichten und Problemlösungen vor allem für den mittel- und südosteuropäischen Raum erarbeitet und angeboten werden können.